Types of Yoga _Explained_

Types of Yoga Explained

How to Choose Your Yoga Type

Confused About so Many Different Types of Yoga, You are not sure which one is the right for you and which one to choose?… No worries, I got you. Just read This…

Often people are confused about yoga. In a sense that when they start they don’t realize that, there are so many different types of yoga. In fact as yoga is a living, vibrant system, is comprised of many branches and limbs. Each of these branches and limbs has its individual name, as well as its own subsystems with their unique names. It is for this reason that yoga can sometimes seem confusing in the beginning.

If you are truly determined to explore the full potential yoga, just like me, you will soon come to realize the vast diversity of these different types of yoga, — hatha yoga, power yoga, jnana yoga, raja yoga, kundalini yoga, tantric yoga, karma yoga and the list goes on and on and on…

One can start confuse himself what type of yoga should I follow? Is this one better than the other? People often

make me these types of questions. But hey, don’t even worry about it! In this article I will make it clear enough for you so after you reading it, you will know what is yoga all about, how many different types of yoga exist out there and which one is your best type. Well, you will have to decide for the last one but you get the idea!

People often think when they start that yoga is just a another gymnastic way of stretching and relaxing the body so we can develop a lean hips and thin tights. But, as we deep enough we start to understand that as yoga has developed over a 5,000-year ago it has extended its reach into many cultures and belief systems. That can help us realize why there are so many different types of yoga. It is important to understand, however, that, all the branches and limbs of yoga developed only for one unique purpose: The goal of liberating the self through the union of body, mind, and soul or attaing God’s consciousness or Samadhi. If you already red this article of mine, you will already know that. You can read it here Samadhi Meditation (please come back later and finish this one -:)

Virtually each yoga type represents the path to self realization or responding to the eternal enquiry of men king since the beginning of times immemorial. In fact, at the end if you practice enough yoga will leads you to the answers of all these eternal questions. “Who am I?”, “Why I am here?”, “What is life all about?”, “Why do we suffer?”, “Is there life after death?”, “Is there life in other planets?” “Is there a God?” “If there is a God Does He loves me?” Each of the major systems of yoga represents a particular approach to self-realization, understanding and final liberation of your soul. None of the systems is superior or inferior to any other. Each yoga system or approach merely emphasizes certain aspects of yoga as the path to higher awareness and liberation. These systems do not have to be viewed as mutually exclusive. They need one another. Each system offers a valuable insight and complete and merge with each other leading you to the final goal of all existence: Infinite bliss.

 swami-rama There are many paths to choose from, and all the paths are equally valid.

—Swami Rama

By understanding what each system of yoga teaches and emphasizes you will be able to decide for yourself which elements are most appropriate to your exact needs, so you can advance spiritually and physically. As you and everybody else, is different and unique, knowing and understanding the different types of yoga, you can create a uniquely personal practice by drawing selectively from the best elements of yoga.

First of all, I will outline for you the major and in my humble opinion the yoga branches that will be more than enough for you to choose and understand so you can advance and succeed in your journey to eternity!

I will help you to get a bird’s eye view of the overall organizational system of yoga without becoming overwhelmed in the intricacies of the details of each. You can then choose, practice and become a ever joyful enlightened being.

The Tree Major Types of Yoga

So in order to achieve infinite bliss or Samadhi we need to practice not only Hatha Yoga (or physical yoga) which is actually just a small part of Raja yoga and is so popular here in the west, but we need to understand and follow in our daily life the following tree major types of Yoga! I recommend to go and read all of them so you can understand yoga as a whole much better.

They are as follows;

Gyana Yoga or Jnana Yoga– The Yoga of Wisdom and Discrimination

rishi3Similarly as Bhakti yoga and Karma yoga, Gyana yoga or Jnana yoga is not a physical type of yoga. Is the yoga of wisdom and discrimination. In this article I shal reveal to you what exactly does that mean. The wisdom of jnana yoga comes through discrimination, or viveka in Sanskrit. Click Here to Read the Full Story…

Bhakti Yoga – The Yoga of Love and Devotion

316881_251017918271178_100000889161372_733712_2981446_nBhakti Yoga is practice of development of love and devotion to God. It is inward, spiritual practice. Is not about stretching in physical yoga asanas. The practice of devotion or Bhakti yoga is very very important part in the spiritual path. As the great Swami Sri Yukteswar said… Click Here to read the Full Story…



Karma Yoga – The Yoga of Right Action

218700_125330514211403_100002033656099_181282_7221308_oSimilarly as Bhakti Yoga, karma yoga is not a physical yoga. It also leads to deeper calmness and inner freedom. In karma yoga you act in your life with the consciousness that it is not you does all these think but its God acting through you, He is ultimately the real doer. The karma yogi tries more and more to redirect all his wrong impulses into… Click Here to read the Full Story…

Raja Yoga – The Royal Yoga

k4The tree major types of yoga we emphasized before – Gyana yoga (Jnana yoga) or yoga of wisdom and discrimination, bhakti yoga or yoga of devotion, Karma yoga or yoga of activity, are really one philosophy in different emphasis. They are not… Click here to learn more…

Add your comment