Spiritual Awakening

Spiritual Awakening

Kundalini Yoga

Spiritual Awakening, Types of Yoga

What is Kundalini Yoga,  How to Awaken Kundalini and 5 Things You Must Know Before You Even Attempt to Awaken it!”

kundalini_powerIt is a little bit complicated to resume Kundalini yoga in just one article or video but I will do the best I can to explain it as clearly and as briefly as possible, so you can understand it and apply it to your yoga practice and extract the benefits.

To understand the Kundalini and Kundalini yoga we need first to start from discussing little bit of the anatomy of yoga. There are 2 channels called “Nadis” in Sanskrit called the Ida and the Pingala.

The Ida nadi is situated on the left side of the spine and the Pingala nadi is situated on the right side of the astral spine. You can’t actually see them with a naked eye, because these channels are in the astral body.

The Ida and Pingala branch out from the medulla oblongata to meet again at the base of the spine. (See the picture below). At the base of the spine they meet the central spinal chnnel called the “Sushumna” or “Deep spine”. Through these Nadis or channels, energy goes up through the Ida on the left side of the spine when we inhale, and flow of energy goes down through the pingala on our right side when we exhale.

This process of rising and falling of energy in the nadis and the breathing which occurs in the physical body is somehow connected to what in yoga has been called as the reactive process. To understand what I am talking about I will give you an example; Read More

Karma Yoga

Spiritual Awakening, Types of Yoga

Karma Yoga – the Yoga of Activity

218700_125330514211403_100002033656099_181282_7221308_oSimilarly as Bhakti Yoga, karma yoga is not a physical yoga. It also leads to deeper calmness and inner freedom, which will helps you reach the ultimate goal of Samadhi. In karma yoga you act in your life with the consciousness that it is not you does all these think but its God acting through you, He is ultimately the real doer. The karma yogi tries more and more to redirect all his wrong impulses into wholesome ones. He is always being aware and reminding himself of the divine energy flowing through him as he acts.
As in bhakti yoga you develop your pure love for everyone and everything in knowing that behind all creation is God Himself, so in karma yoga you know that the infinite spirit or God Himself is that you finally serve and is more important than the service itself.

So action without desiring the fruits of action is Karma yoga. All other activities lead not to freedom and spiritual development but to further bondage. if you always act desiring the fruits of action and you are attached to the result, at the end it will cause you only pain.

No matter what you do, no matter how much you work hard, no matter how much money you have in your bank account, if you always look through the eyes of desire and attachment to the result there will be always something wrong or missing to fulfill you.
Read More

Ashtanga Yoga

Spiritual Awakening, Types of Yoga

What Exactly is Ashtanga Yoga and How Can Ashtanga Yoga Help You?

The Patanjali Yoga Sutras

patanjali6The great ancient exponent of raja yoga Patanjali, more than 2000 years ago wrote in His so called “Patanjali Yoga Sutras” that the path of spiritual enlightenment and perfection embraces eight stages. This path is known as ashtanga yoga or (eight limbed path) or the (eight fold path).

I now shall explain to you these eight limbs or eight stages are so you can understand what exactly is ashtanga yoga is and what are the deeper purposes and directions yoga as a whole.

The first two stages of Patanjali’s eight fold path of ahtanga yoga are called yama and niyama. Yama means control, niyama menans non-control. Literally these two stages describe the dos and the don’ts you need to follow if you want to advance spiritually and achieve perfect union with your higher self. They we might say are the Ten Commandments of Yoga. Interesting enough is to say they almost match to perfection with the Ten Commandments of Moses and serve the same purpose seen from different angles. But we will discuss that in another post. For now let’s focus on what exactly Ashtanga Yoga is all about.

The essential purpose of these Yoga Commandments is to plug holes in your body and mind caused by restlessness, wrong attachments, useless material desires, and many forms of inharmonious living. This way you will be able to direct all your energy and fulfillment toward loving and seeking God, and finally you realize that you are one with the infinite bliss of the Spirit.

You need to practice all these in your daily life if you want truly to advance in your spiritual path and in the meantime find unlimited bliss happiness and joy. Read More

Gyana Yoga

Spiritual Awakening, Types of Yoga

Gyana Yoga or Jnana Yoga. The Yoga of Wisdom and Discrimination

rishi3Similarly as Bhakti yoga and Karma yoga, Gyana yoga or Jnana yoga is not a physical type of yoga. Is the yoga of wisdom and discrimination. In this article I shall reveal to you what exactly does that mean. Practicing gyana yoga you gain wisdom until you grasp the ultimate and infinite truth of God. The wisdom of jnana yoga comes through discrimination, or viveka in Sanskrit.
Jnana yoga means to try to sifting out from all the confusing life appearances that which is the final truth in the heart of creation. And that is God and His infinite love manifested through all of us.

When you practice gyana yoga you always discriminate and try to see that underneed the ugliness and all sorts of human misery. When you for example see that somebody is trying to hurt you or some injustice, always in the first impression cynicism or bad feeling but as gyana yogi after looking more deeply with compassion at heart and applying wisdom and discrimination

you reach the point where you recognize that he too is a child of God who didn’t understand where the true happiness lies, and he is trying to reach it in the wrong direction, and usually people who try to heart others wanting to feed their desperate desires, and finally they end hurt the worst of all. So shouldn’t you feel love and compassion for them? Read More